A dog bite can be a devastating experience resulting in serious injuries, permanent disability, loss of work hours and emotional trauma. Below if important information regarding dog attack and dog safety law in Riverside County and the State of California.
If you have any further legal questions after reading this article feel free to contact our law offices toll free (888) 649-7166
. All consultations with our dog bite attorneys
are free of charge.
Riverside County Dog Bite Laws
Strict Liability – One Bite Rule in the State of California
: California Civil Code Section 3342: Under California Civil codes strict liability is placed where dog bite occurs when a victim in on public property or lawfully in private properly. The rule states, “The owner of any dog is liable for the damages suffered by any person who is bitten by the dog while in a public place or lawfully in a private place, including the property of the owner of the dog, regardless of the former viciousness of the dog or the owner’s knowledge of such viciousness.”
California Laws Definition of Vicious Dog
: Under California Laws a Vicious dog is defines as, Any dog which, when unprovoked, in an aggressive manner, inflicts severe injury on or kills a human being. Or any dog previously determined to be and currently listed as a potentially dangerous dog which, after its owner or keeper has been notified of this determination, continues the behavior described in Section 31602 or is maintained in violation of Section 31641, 31642, or 31643.
: In certain cities in Riverside county properly licensed and tagged (i.e., ownership identification) dogs without vicious, dangerous or aggressive propensities may be exercised without a leash in the designated areas at the designated times established by the Parks Manager. No dogs are permitted outside the designated area unless it is under the supervision of a person 18 years or older.
How Much Time Do I have to File a Lawsui
t: Otherwise known as a Statute of Limitations
, under California laws plaintiffs have a certain time period to file a personal injury lawsuit in the court of law. The statute of limitations for filing a lawsuit against a private entity or corporation is two years from the date of the accident. Claims against government run entities must be filed with the government agency within 6 months from the date of incident. In certain instances court will allow for a tolling of a statute including where the injures victim is incapacitated, or under the age of 18.
Type of Damages Recoverable in a Dog Bite Injury Lawsuit
: Victims of dog bites are entitled to compensation for all their damages including
Cities in Riverside County We Severe
- All medical and health related costs
- All future medical costs
- Lost wages and loss of future income
- Pain and Suffering
- Emotional Distress including PTSD
: Our injury law firm is able to represent victims of dog bites and serious dog attacks across Riverside County including, Corona, Murrieta, City of Riverside, Temecula, Moreno Valley, Desert Springs and Palm Springs.
: If you like to speak to an attorney for legal information regarding dog attacks contact our law offices toll free (888) 649-7166