Multiple DUI Offenses – Best Ways to End Up In Jail!Below is the explanation for multiple DUI offenses in Los Angeles and their punishments. Further in this article, astute readers will find details about “best” fail safe ways to end up in jail; careless mistake that can easily be avoided. However, people normally either don’t pay a lot of attention to the post DUI incidents, or they simply don’t mind spending a few days in jail.
First Time DUI ChargesFirst time DUI charges are a part of the multiple DUI offenses chain. They are the beginning of your first legal encounter with DUI officials in Los Angeles. Take a look at some of the most commonly imposed punishments:
- Summary probation or informal probation for 5 years max
- License suspension for Up To 4 Years
- First time offenders are offered a temporary 30 day window to schedule a meeting at the DMV office.
- If chemical tests are refused, the driver usually goes straight to jail
- Minimum of $1,000 fine. Additional expenses include:
- Assessment fee of $1,300
- According to California laws since 1960, the penalty assessment fee is 171% of the original fine.
- According to latest revisions, this percentage is subject to an increase.
Second Time DUI Offense PunishmentsIn addition to the above punishments, a second time offender may be sentenced to further punishments:
- Submission of $100 fine that goes to California State Restitution Fund.
- Proof of AA program completion, or enrollment at the Level 1 AB – 541 program.
- Additional Fee of $50 to Alcohol Abuse Prevention Community.
- $20 Court Fee
- Minimum of 10 days in prison
- 18 months license suspension
- Car impounded for 30 days
Third, Fourth and Fifth Time DUI Punishments
- Client is subject to 30 month registration at the AA programs.
- Revocation of license by the DMV for 4 years or more.
- DUI prosecuted as felony
- 16 months of incarceration