Type

Statutory Limit

Injury to Persons: This includes most personal injury claims including car accidents, wrongful death, slip and fall, or any negligent or intentional act. 2 Years – From the date of the accident
Defamation:  Including Libel and Slander 1 Year – From the date of the accident
Property Damage: Including Trespass 3 Years – From the date of the property damage
Medical Malpractice 3 years – From the date of the injury

OR

1 Year

From the date the injured party discovered or reasonably ought to have learned of the injury, whichever comes first.

Veterinarian Medical Malpractice: For the injury or death of an animal 1 Year – From the date of the accident
Product Liability 2 Years – From the date of the accident
Oral Contract 2 Years – From the date of the Breach
Written Contracts 4 Years - From the date of the Breach
Wrongful Death 2 Years – From the date of the death
Claims Against a Government Agency – (Personal Injury or Personal Property Claim):  A special claim called an “Administrative Claim” must first be filed with the agency using the government own forms 6 Months (180 days) – To file an Administrative Claim
Claims Against a Government Agency – (Breach of Contract / Real Property Damage Claims):  A special claim called an “Administrative Claim” must first be filed with the agency using the government own forms 1 YearFrom the date of the Breach of contract  or property damage to file an administrative claim
Claims Against a Bank 1 Year – From the date the erroneous funds were paid out.
Fraud 2 Years – From the date of the Fraud
Judgments 2 Years – From the date of the Judgment (with a maximum interest rate of 10%)
Credit Card Debt 4 Years – From the date of non-payment

 

 

EXCEPTIONS

Discovery Rule If the injury is not immediately known, California Law permits additional time.  Please Call for additional assistance 
Minors The minor has until their eighteenth birthday, plus the statutory period to file the suit
Contractual Limitation If a contract specifically stipulates the amount of time a claim may be entered, this contractual provision might trump the applicable California Law
Disabilities Generally, the statutory period does not begin until the disability ends.
Death If Plaintiff Dies:  Statutory period extended by 6 monthsIf Defendant Dies:  Statutory Period extended by 1 year.